28TH AUGUST 2015



The Zandvoort race track dates back to the 1930s. On 3 June 1939, an international competition for race cars was organized for the first time in Dutch history. This involved a course through the streets of Zandvoort.

During the period 1940 -1945 the plans for a permanent race track on the northern side of Zandvoort became more and more concrete, and in 1946 the construction of the circuit, which was partly formed by the natural slopes on the dunes, was definitively started. On 7 August 1948, the first race was held on the new permanent Zandvoort circuit. Soon more races followed on the course, with the first official Formula 1 Grand Prix becoming a milestone in 1952. Up until the mid-eighties, heroes like Alberto Ascari, Juan Manuel Fangio, Stirling Moss, Graham Hill, Jim Clark, Jackie Stewart, James Hunt, Nelson Piquet and Alain Prost braved the challenging course in the Dutch dunes and won at Zandvoort.

After the Grand Prix of 1985, Formula 1 left Zandvoort, but the seaside resort and its impressive race track were not forgotten. In 1990, the Zandvoort race track proved to be an international attraction even without Formula 1. Under the ‘Masters of Formula 3’ title, the world’s fastest Formula 3 racing drivers came to Zandvoort to battle it out to determine the best Formula 3 racing driver.

In 2001, Circuit Park Zandvoort reached its next milestone: the DTM (Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters), the leading international touring car championship held in Europe came to Zandvoort. The combination of competitive touring car exhilaration, the exciting circuit layout and the location of Zandvoort as a tourist attraction turned out to be a bull’s eye. The DTM’s success at Zandvoort did not go unnoticed. In 2006, the A1GP World Cup of Motorsport arrived to challenge the race track on the North Sea coast. The event was a huge success. With more than 120,000 visitors over the course of the weekend, it was one of the most successful motor sport events in the Netherlands, to the delight of both the A1GP organization and Circuit Park Zandvoort.

In 2007, the FIA World Touring Car Championship also followed with two spectacular rounds of top racing, supported by other national race series. Today Circuit Park Zandvoort is a popular circuit among both teams and racing drivers. The friendly, incomparable Zandvoort hospitality and the unique atmosphere make Zandvoort a much sought-after course for international race series.







Circuit Park Zandvoort

108 Burgemeester van Alphenstraat
2041 KA